Chapter 1/Synopsis: – “An Autobiography: The Story Of My Experiments With Truth” By Mohandas Karamchand Gandhi (Mahatma Gandhi)

Chapter 1/Synopsis:  – “An Autobiography: The Story Of My Experiments With Truth” By Mohandas Karamchand Gandhi (Mahatma Gandhi)

For a long time now, I have been wanting to read Mahatma Gandhi’s autobiography titled – My Experiments With Truth. But never could I find an unedited version. The unedited version of the Mahatma’s book contains some of his life experiences that were considered irreligious and immoral; I was curious to know what were those experiments that he said brought him closer to truth.

The version of the book I have in my hand now is also an edited version, though I don’t know to what extent yet – as I haven’t yet begun the book. But from the few pages I have scanned, Mahatma Gandhi’s life is worth a glimpse – his thoughts, his upbringing, his conditioning, his perspectives, what made him, what broke him – in the end, it is what made him a leader; it is what brought about a revolution. Edited or unedited – this is my pick of what I like as I read through the chapters.

CHAPTER 1 – INTRODUCTION 

  1. Scarcely had I started on my autobiography, a series of events culminated in my imprisonment at Yeravada.
  2. Swami Anand of Navajivan Publications insisted that I should write for his magazine, something every week. Then why not my autobiography – I asked?
  3. A god-fearing friend had his doubts: What has set you on this adventure? Writing an autobiography is a peculiar practice of the West.
  4. …Suppose you reject tomorrow the things you hold as principles today? Suppose you revise your plans of today in future?
  5. …Is it not likely that men who will conduct themselves according to your written and spoken word will be misled?
  6. This argument had some effect on me. I did not want to attempt a real autobiography; simply the story of my numerous experiments with truth.
  7. Even if my philosophies of today changed in the tomorrow, my experiments with truth would remain the same.
  8. My experiments in the political field are much known; but they hold not much importance to me; they have won me the title of Mahatma, hence even less; the title has deeply pained me.
  9. I would like to narrate my experiments in the spiritual field which are known only to myself, and from which I have derived power to work in the political field.
  10. What I want to achieve; what I have been pining and striving for 30 years – is to see God face-to-face. I live and move in pursuit of this goal.
  11. My experiments have not been conducted in the closet, but in the open, and I do not think this detracts from their spiritual value.
  12. There are some things that are known only to oneself & one’s Maker. These are clearly incommunicable. The experiments I am about to relate are not such.
  13. There can be no finality or infallibility about conclusions; one must keep an open mind about them; but so long as my acts satisfy my reason and my heart, I firmly adhere to my conclusions.
  14. Truth is not merely truthfulness of word or thought; but acting upon the truth of our own beliefs and conceptions.
  15. I am prepared to sacrifice my life in pursuit of this quest; even my Himlayan blunders seem trivial because I have kept strictly to this path.
  16. The seeker of truth should be humbler than dust; so humble that even dust can crush him.

 M.K. Gandhi, 26th November 192-, Sabarmati Ashram, Ahmedabad

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

END OF CHAPTER 1

CHAPTER 2 – BIRTH & PARENTAGE

Leave a Reply

