Chapter 2/Synopsis: – “An Autobiography: The Story Of My Experiments With Truth” By Mohandas Karamchand Gandhi (Mahatma Gandhi)

Chapter 2/Synopsis:  – “An Autobiography: The Story Of My Experiments With Truth” By Mohandas Karamchand Gandhi (Mahatma Gandhi)

 CHAPTER 2 – BIRTH & PARENTAGE 

  1. The Gandhis belong to the Vaishnav sect of Hinduism, and the Bania caste; referred to in Gujarati as “Vaishnav Vania” (vaania) – a sect & caste predominantly recognized for their monetary abilities.
  2. For 3 generations, my forefathers were Prime Ministers of the Kaathiawad States of Gujarat.
  3. Ota (Uttamchand) Gandhi, my grandfather, was a man of principle. When forced to leave Porbandar & seek refuge in Junagadh, he saluted the Nawab there with his left hand; my right hand is already pledged to Porbandar, he said.
  4. Ota Gandhi married a 2nd time after the death of his 1st wife; he had 4 sons by his 1st wife & 2 by his 2nd; never ever did I feel that they were not sons of the same mother.
  5. Kaba (Karamchand) Gandhi, son no.5, was my father. Kaba Gandhi married 4 times in succession, having lost one wife after another to death. His last wife, Putlibai, bore him 1 daughter & 3 sons. I was the youngest.
  6. My father loved his clan; was truthful, brave, courageous and to some extent given to carnal pleasures.
  7. My father had no education, save experience; of religious training he had very little; he never had any ambition to accumulate any riches and left us very little property.
  8. The outstanding impression on my memory of my mother, is her saintliness & her deep religiousness.
  9. Of these parents, I was born at Porbandar on 2nd October 1869.
  10. I recollect having been put to school; I recollect nothing else except having got through multiplication tables with difficulty; I recollect having called our teacher all kinds of names in the company of other boys.
  11. The fact that I recollect nothing else shows that my intellect was sluggish, and my memory raw.

 +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

END OF CHAPTER 2

CHAPTER 3 – CHILDHOOD

Leave a Reply

