Chapter 2 & 3/Synopsis: – “An Autobiography: The Story Of My Experiments With Truth” By Mohandas Karamchand Gandhi (Mahatma Gandhi)

Chapter 2 & 3/Synopsis:  – “An Autobiography: The Story Of My Experiments With Truth” By Mohandas Karamchand Gandhi (Mahatma Gandhi) 

CHAPTER 2 – CHILDHOOD 

  1. I was put into a primary school at the age of 7. There is hardly anything to note about studies. I was a mediocre student.
  2. I was very shy and avoided all company. I ran back and forth from home to school, least anyone stop me and talk to me.
  3. I recall an incident when a teacher tried to prompt me with the pin of his boot, to copy from my neighbor in a spelling examination, but without effect. I thought teachers were there to supervise against copying. I could never learn the art of `copying’.
  4. Two incidents at the time deeply clung to my memory, and in some way, influenced the course of my future thought. One, was a book from my father’s library that fell into my hands: “Shravana Pitrubhakti” and two, a play called “Harishchandra” which I had watched.
  5. What is it that stops all of us from being dedicated like Shravana & truthful like Harishchandra – is a question that I have often asked myself. 

CHAPTER 3 – CHILD MARRIAGE 

  1. I shall have to swallow much shame in the course of this narrative. I was married at 13.
  2. There is no moral argument in support of marriage at such a preposterously early age.
  3. It appears I was betrothed (engaged) thrice without my knowledge. 2 chosen girls had died in turn; to the 3rd I was married.
  4. It was decided to conduct marriages of myself, my brother and a cousin at the same time. It was to be a triple wedding.
  5. Hindu marriages are no simple matter. Parents of brides & bridegrooms inflict ruin upon themselves in the course of such marriage.
  6. Months are spent in wasting time, wasting substance; deciding ornaments, clothes and budgets.
  7. Women whether they have a voice or not, sing themselves hoarse; sometimes till they fall ill; and disturb the peace of neighbours.
  8. Neighbours in turn quietly put up with turmoil, bustle, dirt, filth – because they know that a time will come when they will be soon behaving this way.
  9. I don’t think marriage meant anything to me except good clothes, drum beatings, rich dinners and a strange girl to play with.
  10. Carnal desire came later, but I propose to draw the curtains over my shame as these events have little to do with the central idea of my writing.
  11. My father arrived for my marriage with severe injuries and bandages all over, as his coach from Rajkot to Porbandar had toppled over.
  12. I forgot the grief of my father’s injuries in the childish amusement of my own wedding.
  13. Looking back, this is a lesson that I have learnt, and a lesson I often teach to 13 year olds today…
  14. …Devotion to parents and commitment to duty – is often impaired by passions that flesh is heir to.
  15. …There comes a time in everyone’s life when passion of the flesh, and pleasure of the body threaten to blind us to the obvious pain of our parents, and of our near & dear ones.
  16. …And if such an occasion does come to pass, we will always look back upon it in shame.
  17. My father put on a brave front in spite of his severe injuries. Everything looked so right, so proper, so pleasing.
  18. Looking back at that day, I never ever imagined I would criticize my father today for my marriage; or regret having married at an age when the mind is malleable to any suggestion.
  19. My brother’s wife coached me on my behavior for the first night; I don’t know who coached my wife. But no coaching is really necessary in such matters. The impressions of the former birth are potent enough to make all coaching superfluous.
  20. We were of the same age, and I took no time in assuming the authority of a husband.

 CHAPTER 4 – PLAYING THE HUSBAND

 +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Leave a Reply

